Carling Cup Winners: Manchester United FC

Man Utd have won the 49th edition of the Carling Cup today at Wembley after a hard fought match against Tottenham Hotspur, a match which went to extra time and eventually to the penalty shootout, where United won comfortably by 4-1, with two misses from Spurs players.

The match started rather quick paced-one, with United controlling the midfield as usual but Spurs threatening with counters. Gibson played well along side Scholes, and even had a couple of attempts from long range, but not on target unfortunately. Ronaldo came close to score for United in the dying minutes of normal time but his superb effort was deflected off the post. United’s young keeper, Ben Foster, had a great day out, saving superbly from Lennon, Modric, and Bent  in normal & extra time respectively.

The match was still goalless as the fastidious shootout was looming, and United were first on the exercise with Ryan Giggs. He was spot on, although helped by the post, but Foster was inspired and saved on his left from Spurs first shooter, O’hara. Tevez then scored the second, with Corluka imitating him for Spurs. Cristiano Ronaldo then calmly added the 3rd, while Bentley missed his completely, although Foster went the right way but did’nt touch the ball. It was Anderson who scored the 4th one, and since Spurs missed 2 already, there was no need to continue further upto the 5 penalties.

Although it was not a fantastic final as expected by many fans, United are worthy winners of the Carling Cup, & a special mention as well for the Spurs players who fought until the end in trying to keep the trophy they won last season, lets hope they do avoid relegation & entertain us next season with their football. 🙂

For a detailed report visit: MUFC Official Site

A gallery can also be viewed from the following page: The (click on ‘Click Here For Slideshow’ button in the post)


One thought on “Carling Cup Winners: Manchester United FC

Comments are closed.