Lionel Messi claims Ballon d’Or

As expected by many football fans, Lionel Messi has won the prestigious Ballon d’Or trophy, mostly due to the  fabulous 2008-2009 season he has had with Barcelona, as they won the treble, which includes the Champions League trophy, and Messi ending up top-scorer in the competition with 9 goals.

Messi won largely ahead of Ronaldo, 477 points to 233 points for Ronaldo, who this time ends runner-up.

The list of the top 10 players is as follows:

1. Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

2. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

3. Xavi (Barcelona)

4. Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)

5. Samuel Eto’o (Inter Milan)

6. Kaka (Real Madrid)

7. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Barcelona)

8. Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

9. Didier Drogba (Chelsea)

10. Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

In an interview with France Football magazine, he stated:

Honestly, I knew that I was among the favourites because Barcelona had a fruitful year in 2009. But I didn’t expect to win with such a margin. The Golden Ball is very important to me. All the players who won it were great players, and some great players never won it