FIFA Ballon d’Or 2010 winner: Lionel Messi

Leo Messi was crowned FIFA Ballon d’Or winner last night as he collected more votes ahead of Barca team-mates, Xavi and Iniesta. He was also honored with the FIFA World Player of the Year. Messi had an excellent run last season with Barcelona, as he scored 42 goals in 36 games played, a ratio well ahead of the best players around other leagues in Europe.

Jose Mourinho was also honored on the night, as he won the FIFA World Coach of the Year in Men’s Football award, rewarding him for his excellent run with Inter Milan last season, where he completed the treble: Serie A, Champions League and Coppa Italia with the Italian side.

All the honors as follows:

FIFA Men’s World Player of the Year: Lionel Messi
FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year: Marta
FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football: Jose Mourinho
FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football: Silvia Neid
FIFA FIFPro World XI of 2010:Iker Casillas; Maicon, Gerard Pique, Lucio, Carles Puyol; Xavi, Wesley Sneijder, Andres Iniesta; Cristiano Ronaldo, David Villa, Lionel Messi
FIFA Puskas Award: Hamit Altintop
FIFA Fair Play Award: Haiti Under-17 women’s team
FIFA Presidential Award: Archbishop Desmond Tutu

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine