Lionel Messi claims Ballon d’Or for the third time in a row

Lionel Messi became the fourth player in history of football to claim the Ballon d’Or three times, and thus claimed the world player of the year title, ahead of his Barcelona team mate, Xavi, and Cristiano Ronaldo. Sir Alex was also honoured at the event, as he was awarded the FIFA president award for services to football, while Pep Guardiola received the FIFA’s Men’s Football Coach of the Year award, and finally Santos player, Neymar, received the FIFA Puskas award for best goal.

The FIFPro team was also announced, with the following line-up:

Iker Casillas,Dani Alves, Gerard Pique, Sergio Ramos, Nemanja Vidic, Andres Iniesta, Xabi Alonso, Xavi, Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Wayne Rooney