Post-transfer news: Man City youngster joins Man United

Veseli (in City's kit)

“I am very happy and it is an honour to sign for Manchester United. I can’t wait to get started, to work hard and do everything I can to help the team. I am looking forward to showing everybody what I can do on the pitch. I am very thankful to Sir Alex Ferguson for bringing me to such a great club. Manchester United has a long history of younger players coming through and hopefully I can follow and do the same.” – Frederic Veseli, 19 years old, Center Back, Swiss U-20 international.

At first I thought it was a joke, but then read confirmed news that young Swiss defender, Frederic Veseli, 19 years old, indeed joined United on the transfer deadline day, 31st Jan. According to his agent, this move was done after Sir Alex had a talk with the lad, as well as regarding City’s lack of commitment to nurture young talents and give them the adequate opportunities. The lad will first go through the reserves, then he will be given the chance to challenge for a spot in the first team

In other transfer news for United, following Gibson’s exit to Everton a couple of weeks ago, hot prospect but somewhat bad-boy, Morrison, has been sold to West Ham, while Mame Biram Diouf has joined Hannover 96 in Germany. Macheda is still on loan at QPR, but could be sold as well in the summer transfer market if he does not impress the gaffer.

