The tactical nous is going haywire

soc_g_rooney2_576x324The curse in CL for English clubs was still on last night, as after Man City and Arsenal last week, it was Man United’s turn last night to suffer a setback, and strangely enough, on the same scoreline as the previous 2 clubs, that is 0-2, at the hands of Olympiakos. United were so awful last night that they only had one attempt on goal despite enjoying more ball possession, and RvP even managed to miss a consolation in the late minutes of the game. With Dominguez putting the hosts ahead with a clever backheel on the 38th minute already giving United the blues, the worst was to come in the second half when Campbell, on loan from Arsenal, scored a beauty on the 54th minute to pile on the miseries on Moyes and Co. Later on, RvP even vented out his frustrations concerning the team tactics put out, whereby he lamented the fact that he was finding it difficult to adjust, and sometimes had his teammates clogging the spaces on the field where he should have been.

“My teammates are sometimes occupying the spaces I want to play in,” he said. “And when I see that it makes it difficult for me to come to those spaces as well. So that forces me to adjust my runs, based on the position of my fellow players. And unfortunately, they’re often playing in my zones. I think that’s a shame.”

Moyes is in for some hard time ahead, and it will be a miracle if United managed to qualify in the return leg at OT.

