Farewell to season 2014-2015


It was a day of farewells as the English Premier League Season 2014 – 2015 came to an end today, with Chelsea being officially crowned champions, and won 3-1 over Sunderland, while both Manchester City and Arsenal won as well to secure their 2nd and 3rd spots, which qualify them directly for the CL group stages next season, with Lampard scoring for City in his last game in England as he prepares to join his MLS team, while Walcott scored a hat-trick for the Gunners in their 4-1 win over West Brom. Manchester United for their part dealt with a stalemate 0-0 draw against Hull, the latter relegated in the process, alongside Burnley and QPR. Goals were scored in all other games, with Newcastle securing their EPL spot next season with a 2-0 win over West Ham, while Gerrard had a farewell which he should forget quickly as he too will join a MLS team, LA Galaxy, but had to endure a 6-1 defeat at the hands of Stoke City. Farewell was also made by Drogba to the Chelsea team and fans, as he was allowed 30 minutes of playtime in the first half, before all his teammates carried him on their shoulders to be substituted by Costa, while for Man City, Yaya Toure seemed to have played his last game with the sky blue shirt on, and does seem to leave for another destination shortly, while for United, Falcao is set to leave, and could be joined by other players like Evans, Rafael, RvP and De Gea, but the latter has yet to announce his decision on whether or not he will be signing for Real Madrid in the coming days,despite persistent rumours of him agreeing a deal with the Los Blancos.

The transfer saga will now take over from here, as the teams will look to strengthen the squads to challenge for next season’s trophies, but of course not to forget the FA Cup final next weekend which will see Arsenal face off Aston Villa at Wembley Stadium, with the Villains having a chance to claim a European spot as well should they win, and why not try to put behind them a rather bad season by claiming a silverware, while Arsenal will for their part try to keep hold of the precious trophy which they won last season.